Oh the Weather We’re Having

Cold (very). Snow (lots of it). For those not in the know, the North East is getting hit with snow and freezing temperatures. Where we are isn’t as bad as places like Boston (84+ inches inches in the last 30 days) but we still have had a great deal of snow (over two feet). The news this morning said it’s the worst February since 1979. Where we live is fairly flat and open so we have a lot of drifting snow as well. The schools have closed on and off for snow and cold. So far the lowest temperature we’ve had (with windchill) is -27 F. Bryan has had the fun of keeping the driveway clear, along with cleaning out the crap that the plows have nailed us with. That is if he will be able to get in the driveway after work. A few times I’ve had to go out and clear a couple of feet of hard packed snow. I know Bryan wants to see exactly how much snow the Jeep can break through but I rather play it a bit safer. I get to shovel a path from the back door, across the deck, to what used to be our yard. Now it resembles more of a snowy field. I’ve taken to snowshoeing around the yard to create paths for Seneca to run around. Friday I noticed some crazy icicles off the roof and decided it was time to take pictures of the icicles and drifting snow we have been having. Don’t worry, we did knock them down so no fear of us being struck by falling ice! And I’m finally getting around to posting some of them. So, here is a slice of our winter wonderland!

these went all along the back of the house. some of them were up to three feet long!

these went all along the back of the house. some of them were up to three feet long!

Bryan and Seneca taking the night's drifting accumulation off the porch

Bryan and Seneca taking the night’s drifting accumulation off the deck

the drifting around the corner of the house were crazy

the drifting around the corner of the house were crazy

another view

another view

more drifts

more drifts

the front porch a bit buried

the front porch a bit buried

our neighborhood

our neighborhood

10 thoughts on “Oh the Weather We’re Having

  1. Seeing your snow drifts I don’t feel so badly about our snow anymore. We don’t have the drifting so it’s just the straight accumulation … which is bad enough.
    … and those icicles are wicked!!

    Your comment about packing the snow with your snowshoes for Seneca made me smile. I actually shovel the back deck and pathway at the side of the house for my cat Theo. I have a spoiled cat 🙂

    • Oh our spoiled pets! Seneca likes to pretend she can’t move through the snow… until she is properly motivated! Granted considering the accumulation we have now she does have a legitimately hard time, squirrels or no squirrels!

      • It’s tough to be a spoiled animal. It’s been so cold, Theo doesn’t want to go outside. Instead he sits at the patio door and ‘barks’ at the birds. It makes me laugh every time! 🙂

      • Seneca likes playing the lemme out/lemme in game. It consists of barking (generally crazed) to go out, She gets outside, takes a bite of snow, i return to my desk/the other room, 30 seconds later she barks to come in. Repeat a bunch of times. Regardless of how long I stand at the back door, she will stay out until I leave. There is also the “I want out no I don’t” game. It is the (again crazed) barking. Get up to let her out. She gets a hint of how cold it is and she runs to the other side of the room, lays down, and looks at you as if to say what are you trying to do to me?

      • {gasp} … it’s not just Theo then!!!!
        It’s like his memory of how cold it is outside lasts all of 5 minutes … then he wants to try again.
        I didn’t realize cats had so much backward speed until I opened the door the other day when it was -40. Theo’s scrunched up face made me laugh out loud. Then he ran to the front door to see if it was just as cold out in the front yard.
        … and he does this ALL . DAY . LONG!

What do you think?

