Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute

Daily Prompt: Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

“Character is like a tree and reputation like its shadow.

The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.”

~Abraham Lincoln

Reputation is a tricky thing. And fickle. You can spend all sorts of time and effort improving it and making it what you want it to be and all it takes is some small thing and it’s all shot to hell. When it comes down to it, all you can worry about is the quality of your character and hope the rest falls into place.

At my job, my main project was put on hold. At that point I found little “fix-it” projects that no one else has either had time to do or knows how to do. These little projects have been a big help to several different departments. I got called into a cycle time reduction meeting today and diagrammed on the board were the current and future state processes. There was a bubble cloud in the middle of the future state. After getting the brief summary I was asked, can you fill in the cloud and make it work? While I sit in my office and don’t do the same thing that my office-mates do, I’m the one that gets called to fill in the blanks and fix things. Which, I’m ok with.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  2. Pingback: Extreme Anxiety | alienorajt
  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger of Repute | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  4. Pingback: “I’ve got a rad reputation / as a cool dude” | Rob's Surf Report
  5. Pingback: Reputation | LOQUACITÉ
  6. Pingback: It Precedes Me | 20/20 Hines Sight
  7. Pingback: I’m shy! Day 17 zerotohero | Eclectic odds n sods
  8. I like, short and right to the point. Often the people who are called in to fill in and fix-it are the ones everyone knows they count on when everybody else disappears. So I would think it to be a good reputation. :O)

What do you think?

